KHRC Works in Progress Seminars (WIPs)

KHRC Works in Progress (WIPs) occur every other Monday on the San Francisco VA Medical Center campus (building 2, room 140) at 10am-11am.  They are an opportunity for our members to present work and ideas in order to get feedback and comments.  If you are interested in learning more about our work, please feel free to join us for these WIPs.  You can also call into a conference line if you are unable to make it to campus. Please contact Erica Day ([email protected]) for more information about our WIPs and participating.

Monday, May 20, 2019

Presenter: Rebecca Scherzer

Topic: On statistical significance and the p-value fallacy

Suggested Readings:

Amrhein  V, Greenland  S, McShane  B.  Scientists rise up against statistical significance.  Nature. 2019;567(7748):305-307. doi:

Ioannidis JPA. The Importance of Predefined Rules and Prespecified Statistical Analyses: Do Not Abandon Significance. JAMA. Published online April 04, 2019. doi:10.1001/jama.2019.4582

Bacchetti, Peter.  "Common Biostatistical Problems and the Best Practices that Prevent Them".  Available from: https://www.ctspedia.org/do/view/CTSpedia/PvalueFallacy.


Monday, May 6 , 2019

Presenter: Michelle Estrella

Topic: OPTICS study update


Monday, April 22 , 2019

Presenter: Meyeon Park

Topic: Practice presentation for NKF 


Monday, April 8, 2019

Presenter: Michael Shlipak, Michelle Estrella

Topic: KHRC update


Monday, March 25, 2019

Presenter: Michelle Estrella

Topic: TBD


Monday, March 11, 2019

WIP CANCELLED


Monday, February 25, 2019

Presenter: Vasantha Jotwani

Topic: Mitochondrial Health, Cardiovascular Health and Frailty in SPRINT


Monday, February 11, 2019

Presenter: Michelle Estrella

Topic: TBD


Monday, January 28, 2019

Presenter: LekhaTummalapalli

Topic: CKD Awareness project and REGARDS cohort ideas


Monday, December 17, 2018

Presenter: Scott Bauer


Monday, December 3, 2018

Presenter: Meyeon Park


Monday, October 22, 2018

Presenter: Simon Ascher


Monday, September 24, 2018

Presenter: Lekha Tummalapalli

Topic: Cardiac Biomarkers are Associated with Heart Failure Symptom Scores in the Chronic Renal Insufficiency Cohort (CRIC)


Monday, August 27, 2018

Presenter: All members

Topic: Updates from everyone


Summer Break- No WIPS in June-August 2018


Monday, June 4, 2018

Presenter: Michelle Estrella and Anthony Muiru

Topic: Potential projects in H3Africa


Monday, May 28, 2018

Memorial Day- NO KHRC WIP


Monday, May 14, 2018

Presenter: Brian Chan, Carmen Peralta, and Michelle Estrella

Topic: Using Epic data for research


Monday, May 7, 2018 (we will not have WIP April 30, 2018)

Presenter: Carmen Peralta

Topic: From epidemiology to trials: health services research in CKD


Monday, April 16, 2018

Presenter: Meyeon Park

Topic: MRI and biopsy study data and paper presentation


Monday, April 9, 2018

Presenter: Alex Lee

Topic: SPRINT biomarker results to date


Monday, March 19, 2018

Presenter: Mike Shlipak

Topic: new R01 Aims


Monday, March 5, 2018

Presenter: Vighnesh Walavalkar

Topic: Introduction to renal pathology, histology, and glomerular and interstitial disease.


Monday, February 29, 2018

NO WIP

President's Day holiday


Monday, February 5, 2018

Presenter: All members

Topic: updates on work from all members


Monday, January 22, 2018

NO WIP (KHRC RETREAT)


Monday, January 8, 2018

Presenter: Michael Shlipak and Michelle Estrella

Topic: new R01 Aims


Monday, December 25, 2017

NO WIP

Happy Holidays!


Monday, December 11, 2017

Presenter: Raymond Hsu and Anna Rubinsky

Topic: Data from "Clinical Outcomes after Dialysis-Requiring Acute Kidney Injury"- R03 study (PI: Hsu)


Monday, November 27, 2017

Presenter: Meyeon Park

Topic: Doris Duke Medical Student mentoring project application


Monday, November 13, 2017

Presenter: Carmen Peralta and Michelle Estrella

Topic: R01 proposed Aims for new upcoming grant submission


Monday, October 30, 2017

Presenter: Lenny Lopez and Carmen Peralta

Topic: R01 proposed Aims for new upcoming grant submission


Monday, October 16, 2017

Presenter: Anthony Muiru

Topic: K23 proposed Aims


Monday, October 2, 2017

Presenter: Meyeon Park

Topic: Progress report/presentation on Doris Duke award project


Monday, August 21, 2017

Presenter: Vasantha Jotwani

Topic: Using new trauma cohort through the Department of Medicine's cohort development grant- study design help.


Tuesday, August 1st, 2017

Presenter: Martin Frigaard

Topic: Associations of CKD diagnosis in a chart and the processes of care that follow.


Tuesday, July 4th, 2017

No KHRC WIP due to the Federal Holiday


Tuesday, June 20th, 2017

Presenter: Carmen Peralta and Anna Rubsinky

Topic: How to handle blood pressure outcome in Dr. Peralta's VA clinical trial


Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Presenter: KHRC group

Topic: ASN abstract submission presentations


Tuesday, May 23rd, 2017

Presenter: Carmen Peralta and Michelle Estrella

Topic: Brainstorming on APOL1 genotype grant submission


Tuesday, May 9th, 2017

Presenter: Jesse Ikeme and Vasantha Jotwani

Topic: updates on Ikeme paper and presentation on bridging UCSF with industry.

Useful links:

https://ita.ucsf.edu/about

http://ctsi.ucsf.edu/catalyst

http://accelerate.ucsf.edu/funding/catalyst

http://centerfordigitalhealthinnovation.org/

http://qb3.org/

http://qb3.org/sbir/

http://rosenmaninstitute.org/

http://www.missionbaycapital.com/


 

Tuesday, April 25th, 2017

WIP cancelled this week


Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Presenter: Vasantha Jotwani

Topic: mitochondrial DNA and kidney disease


Tuesday, March 28th, 2017

Presenter: Jesse Ikeme

Topic: Analyses of Randomized Clinical Trial for the Effect of Clopidogrel Added to Aspirin on Kidney Functio


Tuesday, March 14th, 2017

Presenter: Harini Sarathy

Topic: Analysis of the Hispanic Communities Healthy Study/Study of Latinos (SOL)


Tuesday, February 28th, 2017

Presenter(s): Michael Shlipak and Rebecca Scherzer

Topics: Association of FGF-23 with CVD Events, HF Events, and Mortality in SPRINT Participants with CKD and new analyses results from HIV biomarker studies